Skip to main content
International healthExpavy

Country guide — North Africa and the Middle East

Expat insurance and health insurance in Oman

Quiet residential lane in a traditional district of old Muscat, low pale-stone facades and mashrabiya screens in Omani architectural style

In short

In Oman, health insurance for foreign private-sector employees and their dependants relies on the mandatory national 'Dhamani' scheme (unified health insurance policy), created by the Capital Market Authority — since renamed the Financial Services Authority (FSA) — through decisions No. 34/2019, 78/2019 and 98/2019, whose entry into force has been presented as effective since January 2023 by most professional sources. Its technical rollout nonetheless remains gradual: the e-Dhamani electronic platform was only officially launched on 1 October 2024, with about 86% of players integrated by that date (33 hospitals, 9 insurers, 3 third-party administrators), private clinics and pharmacies with fewer than 5 branches having to join the platform by 31 December 2025 — no public source consulted formally confirms, as of the verification date, that this full integration of the care network is complete. The employer must fund basic cover for each foreign employee, their spouse and their children under 21 (annual cap of 4,500 OMR, including 3,000 OMR for hospitalisation and 500 OMR for outpatient care); domestic workers fall under a separate cap of 4,000 OMR. A French tourist entering on the free visa of under 14 days or the e-visa (20 to 21 OMR for 30 days) is not subject to any Omani legal health insurance requirement identified in official sources, but France Diplomatie recommends comprehensive travel insurance. No social security agreement links France and Oman.

Source : France Diplomatie — Oman, Health

Key figures

  • 670 French nationals registered with the consular register in 2025 (639 in 2024, +4.85%).
  • Life expectancy at birth: 80.2 years in 2024.
  • Current health expenditure: 3.49% of GDP in 2023, about 732 US$ per capita.
  • Annual cap of the Dhamani scheme (private-sector employees): 4,500 OMR, including 3,000 OMR for hospitalisation and 1,000 OMR for repatriation.

Local healthcare system

The Omani system relies on a public sector run by the Ministry of Health, with a reference public hospital in each wilayat (sub-district) and a leading hospital network concentrated in Muscat — foremost among them the Royal Hospital, the country's main referral and emergency centre, and the Sultan Qaboos University Hospital, the tertiary-level university hospital centre. Free or heavily subsidised public care in practice remains reserved for Omani citizens; a dense private sector, widely used by expats, rounds out the offering in Muscat and the main cities.

A foreign resident in principle only has access to public facilities in a life-threatening emergency or when the treatment required is not available in the private sector, for a non-Omani rate of around 5 to 10 OMR per consultation depending on the Ministry of Health facility. Most expats therefore turn to the private network (GP consultation of around 15 to 30 OMR), covered depending on their status by Dhamani cover provided by the employer or by international insurance taken out individually.

Legal and visa obligations

Legal basis: the Capital Market Authority (CMA, since renamed the Financial Services Authority, FSA) established the unified health insurance policy "Dhamani" through decision No. 34/2019 (24 March 2019), further specified by the health insurance rules of decision No. 78/2019 (2 October 2019) then extended to domestic workers by decision No. 98/2019 (December 2019); Sultani decrees No. 44 and 45 of 2021 subsequently reclassified health insurance as an independent line of business. The rollout, announced in phases by company size since 2019-2020, is presented by several professional sources as effective since January 2023 for the obligation itself; its technical implementation via the e-Dhamani platform (officially launched on 1 October 2024, integration of private clinics and pharmacies targeted for end 2025) remains, according to the latest available sources, in the process of being finalised.

  • Foreign private-sector employees (all nationalities) and their dependants (spouse, children under 21): the employer must enrol them with an approved insurer and fund the premium, for cover capped at 4,500 OMR per year (including 3,000 OMR for hospitalisation, 500 OMR for outpatient care and up to 1,000 OMR for repatriation of remains in the event of death), excluding pre-existing conditions and, according to the sources consulted, maternity.
  • Domestic workers employed by an Omani or foreign household: mandatory cover since end 2019, with a separate annual cap of 4,000 OMR borne by the employer.
  • Foreign students: health insurance is generally required to issue the student visa, arranged through the university or host institution rather than the Dhamani scheme itself.
  • Retirees, self-employed people, investors (investor visa, "Golden Visa" relaunched in August 2025, residency linked to a property): without a sponsoring employer to arrange Dhamani, these profiles must take out equivalent private health insurance themselves.
  • Visitors on an on-arrival visa or e-visa (the common case for a French tourist stay): no Omani legal health insurance requirement has been identified in the official sources consulted for this specific category; France Diplomatie nonetheless recommends "checking that you are properly insured" before departure, without this being an entry condition imposed by the Omani authorities.

Cost of some medical procedures

Orders of magnitude from specialised sources, not official fee schedules.

Cost of some medical procedures in Oman, public and private sector
ProcedurePublic sectorPrivate sector
GP consultation (public sector, non-Omani rate)5 to 10 OMR depending on the Ministry of Health facility15 to 30 OMR depending on the facility
Specialist consultation—rate varies by facility, not publicly disclosed
Emergency room visitaccess limited for expats (life-threatening emergency or care unavailable privately)rate varies by facility, not publicly disclosed
Night of hospitalisation—rate varies by facility, not publicly disclosed
Imaging (MRI / CT scan)—rate varies by facility, not publicly disclosed
Serious emergency with resuscitation, uninsured patient—10,000 to 20,000 OMR depending on severity and facility

Social security agreements with France

There is no bilateral social security agreement between France and Oman: the country does not appear on the list of agreements in force published by CLEISS, like the other Gulf monarchies.

  • No coordination or totalisation of affiliation periods for pension purposes.
  • No reimbursement of care by French health insurance, except through voluntary enrolment with CFE.
  • Dhamani cover depends on residency status and the employer, not on French nationality.

Which insurance for my profile

General matrix — does not recommend any specific product or insurer.

Which insurance by profile, for Oman
ProfileRegulatory constraintPoints of attention
Working holiday visaNot applicable (no France-Oman working holiday agreement)Falls under a standard work or visitor visa, with the corresponding requirements
StudentInsurance required for the student visa, arranged through the university or host institutionCheck that the policy covers the entire length of stay and practical access to the private hospital network
Private-sector employee / local contractEmployer legally required to enrol and fund Dhamani cover (cap of 4,500 OMR/year)Modest cap, maternity and pre-existing conditions often excluded — supplementary cover worth considering
Retiree, self-employed or investor (Golden Visa)No automatic legal scheme: equivalent private insurance to be taken out by the person themselvesA condition for issuing/renewing the residence permit; high private hospital costs to budget for
Family (dependants)Employer required to cover the spouse and children under 21 of a Dhamani-enrolled employeeA child aged 21 or over is not eligible: separate cover to plan for

Hospitals and care network

  • Royal Hospital — Muscat, the country's main reference public hospital and emergency centre, under the Ministry of Health.
  • Sultan Qaboos University Hospital — Muscat, tertiary-level university hospital centre, notably for specialised paediatrics.
  • Muscat Private Hospital — Muscat (Bausher), the country's first private hospital accredited by JCI (since 2012), widely used by expat patients.

Practical steps

  • Before departure: take out insurance covering medical care, hospitalisation and repatriation, recommended by France Diplomatie; costs are settled on site and are never covered by the embassy.
  • Check your passport: validity of more than six months from the date of entry.
  • For a short stay: free on-arrival visa (passport stamp) for a stay of under 14 days, or an e-visa via evisa.rop.gov.om (20 OMR online, 21 OMR at the airport for 30 days) beyond that.
  • For a private-sector employee: check with the employer that enrolment in the Dhamani scheme happens from the start of employment, and that the spouse and children under 21 are effectively covered.
  • For a resident without a sponsoring employer (retiree, self-employed, Golden Visa, property-based residency): take out equivalent cover yourself before applying for or renewing the residence permit.
  • Within 6 months: register with the roll of French nationals living abroad (free, recommended).

Frequently asked questions

Is the Dhamani scheme fully operational in Oman in 2026?

The obligation itself is presented as effective since January 2023 by several professional sources, but its technical implementation remains gradual: the e-Dhamani platform was only officially launched in October 2024, and integration of private clinics and pharmacies was still targeted for end 2025. No public source consulted formally confirms that this integration of the care network is complete today.

Does a French tourist on a short stay need insurance to enter Oman?

No Omani legal health insurance requirement has been identified for a visitor on a free on-arrival visa or an e-visa. France Diplomatie nonetheless recommends checking that you are properly insured before departure, as medical costs are settled on site and are never covered by the embassy.

Who pays the Dhamani contribution for a foreign employee?

The employer, who must enrol the employee as well as their spouse and children under 21 with an approved insurer and fund the premium for cover capped at 4,500 OMR per year.

Does French social security continue to cover me in Oman?

No. In the absence of a bilateral social security agreement between France and Oman, there is neither automatic reimbursement nor maintained rights through French health insurance; voluntary enrolment with CFE remains possible.

Is the Dhamani cover cap enough for an expat living in Oman?

Not necessarily. The annual cap of 4,500 OMR (including 3,000 OMR for hospitalisation) in practice excludes pre-existing conditions and, according to the sources consulted, maternity — hence expats' frequent recourse to supplementary international insurance for Muscat's private sector.

Moving to Oman? Get a quote